#### APPENDIX II

# COMPENSATION PLAN ADVISORY COMMITTEE GUIDELINES

#### A. PURPOSE AND RESPONSIBILITIES

To assist the Dean in resolving the issues that may arise from implementing the Plan. The Committee assists in assuring compliance with and resolving issues on outside professional activities, conflict of interest, and conflict of commitment. The Committee also reviews the submissions of individual Departmental Compensation Plans.

The Committee has responsibility for advising the Dean with regard to:

- Development of the school Implementing Procedures, including the establishment of Good Standing Criteria, Academic Programmatic Unit (APU) assignments, and APU Scales.
- Departmental Compensation Plans including methods for obtaining Plan members input and for determining consistency with school Implementing Procedures.
- Review of potential conflicts between a Plan member's commitment to generating revenue within the Plan and his or her outside professional activities.
- Review of Plan member appeals regarding implementing and administering the Plan that are not resolved at the department or school levels or are submitted to the Advisory Committee as a result of a determination of loss of Good Standing. Senate Plan members may pursue their grievance rights before the Privilege and Tenure Committee under Senate Bylaw 335. Non-Senate Plan members are entitled to a Step III hearing under APM - 140.
- Faculty grievance petitions with regard to Plan member salaries.
- Requests for exceptions
- Other issues as requested by the Dean

The Committee will provide an annual summary report on its activities to Plan participants, the Dean, and the Chancellor.

#### **B. REPORTING RELATIONSHIP**

This Committee is accountable to the Plan participants and advisory to the Dean. If the Dean and Committee cannot agree on a HSCP issue, the Chancellor or his designee will act as arbiter. Final authority shall rest with the Chancellor and the President, if required.

## C. MEMBERSHIP

Membership shall consist of ten voting members of the Plan in good standing. No more than 50 percent of the voting members will be appointed by the Dean. The remaining members of the Advisory Committee are elected by Plan members. All voting members of the Committee must have a faculty appointment.

Plan members in the following five categories will be elected to represent their constituents as follows:

Department Chair – One member as elected by a majority vote of department chairs.

Basic Science (Anatomy, Biological Chemistry, Epidemiology, Microbiology, Pharmacology, Physiology) – One member as elected by a majority of the voting Plan members in those departments.

Medical Specialties (Dermatology, Family Medicine, Medicine, Neurology, Pediatrics, PM&R, Psychiatry) – One member as elected by a majority of the voting Plan members in those departments.

Surgical Specialties (Neurosurgery, Ob/Gyn, Ophthalmology, Orthopedic Surgery, Otolaryngology, Surgery, Urology) – One member as elected by a majority of the voting Plan members in those departments.

Hospital-based Specialties (Anesthesiology, Emergency Medicine, Pathology, Radiation Oncology, Radiological Sciences) – One member as elected by a majority of the voting Plan members in those departments.

#### D. NOMINATION AND ELECTION PROCESS

Nominations will be solicited by the SOM Executive Committee. Nominations will be accepted from the SOM Dean, faculty, departments and Executive Committee. If more than three nominations are received for any position, a preliminary vote will be taken of the respective group, and the three nominees receiving the most votes will be placed on the ballot. The election will be held in July with the term commencing on the following August. The election will be administered by the Faculty Compensation Office, under the authority of the Dean.

#### E. TERM

Elected members will serve a staggered term of three years. In the initial year, the terms will be:

- Department Chair initial term through July 31, 2015; thereafter, three year term beginning August 1, 2015.
- Basic Science Departments initial term through July 31, 2015; thereafter, three year term beginning August 1, 2015
- Medical Specialties initial term through July 31, 2015; thereafter, three year term beginning August 1, 2015.
- Surgical Specialties initial term through July 31, 2014; thereafter, three year term beginning August 1, 2014
- Hospital-based Specialties initial term through July 31, 2014; thereafter, three year term beginning August 1, 2014

If an elected member becomes ineligible (terminates membership in the Plan or becomes a member in non-compliance) or is unable to complete their elected term, an election will be held to serve out the remaining portion of the member's term. All individuals elected, to the extent possible, will represent the broad and diverse interests of their constituents. An elected Plan member may serve no more than two consecutive terms.

## F. COMMITTEE CHAIR

The School of Medicine Sr. Associate Dean for Clinical Affairs will serve as the Committee Chair.

## G. MEETINGS, VOTING RIGHTS AND QUORUM REQUIREMENTS

The Committee shall meet monthly or as determined by its Chair, but no less frequently than semi-annually. A quorum shall consist of five voting members of the Committee. No voting may occur with less than a quorum. All actions or recommendations shall have a majority vote of those in attendance. Voting by proxy shall not be permitted nor an alternate representative permitted to attend.