2023

IT'S A WRAP

A Year in Review



It is exciting to share the best of 2023 in this news edition & recognize SOM PhD, MD/PhD, MS students, postdocs, alums & clubs for their accomplishments. The list is too long to post, though a few items are noted below.

We wish you all a happy & productive 2024!

SOM Office of Graduate Studies

AD Tombola, Leora, Joanne, Nancy, Grace

Activities throughout the Year

SOM DECADE Pumpkin Decorating Contest

The SOM Diverse Educational Community and Doctoral hosted a pumpkin decorating contest for students to destress and connect with peers over coffee and doughnuts. Olga Jaime and SOM DECADE leaders organized this popular event!



ReachOut TeachOut

ROTO paired 100 graduate student mentors with 80 high school students to support preparation for the OC Science & Engineering Fair. Great work Annie Trinh & committee!



Faculty/Student/Postdoc Soccer Match

Faculty members & students played soccer for fun followed by a BBQ potluck for all. Kudos to Ben Clock for organizing.



Pop-up Parties

Our Lunar New Year & Ice Cream social events attracted a crowd of students & postdocs who stayed a few minutes or chatted a while.





2023 Notable Awards and Honors

NSF GRFP, Alisa Mahieu

Ford Fellowship Foundation, Max Garduño

Dr. Lorna Carlin Scholar, Sunwoo Oh

Gazzaniga Family Medical Research Award, Mulatwa Haile

Mapel Research Innovation Award, Fiona Law

ARCS Fellow, Paige Halas, Annie Trinh

Estee Lauder Epigenetics Fellowship, Bridget Fortin

Rose Hills Foundation Fellowship, Cherie Stringer, Jose Moran & Nora Nabi

SOM Outstanding Graduate Student Research, Jason Lee

UCI Chancellor's Postdoctoral Fellow, Jennifer Yonan

UCI Fletcher Jones Fellowship, May Hui

UCI Faculty Mentor Program, Gregory De Carvalho

UCI President's Dissertation Year Fellowship, Mulatwa Haile

UCI Graduate Dean's Dissertation Fellowship, Alan Ly

UCI Latino Excellence & Achievement (LEAD), Olga Jaime

UROP Research Discovery Program Mentor, Cherie Stringer

2023 Notable Awards and Honors

NIH F30 Fellowship, May Hui, Cassie Kooiker, Sam Du, John Hong, Jacob Deyell, Arash Abiri, Dhruba Banerjee, Sandra Gattas, Sophie Levis, Yueqi Ren

NIH F31 Fellowship, Johnny Le, Alan Ly, Alex Moshensky, Brenda Gutierrez, Zach Engfer, Jason Lee, Alexa Tierno, Max Garduño

MD/PhD Outstanding Service, Cassie Kookier

UCI Cancer Center Annual Scientific Retreat Poster Presentation Award, Shannon Geels

CNLM Renee Harwick Advanced Graduate Student Award, Rachael Hokenson

CNLM John W. Haycock Memorial Graduate Student Travel Award, Lara Taniguchi

CNLM Schneiderman Fellow, Nellie Nelson, Rachael Hokenson, Sophie Levis, Bianca Leonard, Aliza Le

NIDA T32 for Substance Use & Use Disorders, Lauren Otsuka

American Society of Hematology Abstract Achievement Award, Sultan Alsuhaibani

Miguel Velez Scholarship, Max Garduño

Graduate Dean Award, Gateway Programs, Mason Hardy, Onwodi Ofekjeokwu, Sarahi Rios Arguello, Roshae Roberts, Kevin Sanchez, Yutian Zhang, Tessa Chou, Kalei Guillermo